Department of Energy: Race to Zero - CO; 2014

Student Design Competition

Golden, CO — 04-30-2014 – It was announced today that Georgia Tech’s School of Architecture team “gt.5” is the Design Solution Category Winner and Construction Documents Jury Award Winner in the 1st Annual DOE Race to Zero Competition. The awards recognize the team’s efforts in integrating optimizations into design and their advanced software usage.   

Twenty-eight university teams from U.S. and Canada competed to develop cost-effective zero energy ready homes for mainstream builders. On April 26 and 27 these teams presented their innovative designs aimed to transform housing in America. These innovations will be incorporated into the DOE and NREL effort to fight climate change.

The design of Prototype 5 by Team gt.5 was developed by a diverse team from the High Performance Building Lab under the guidance of Professor Godfried Augenbroe. With a clear mandate to show tightly integrated design, simulation, optimization and building science, the team produced a highly modern, performance based design. Prototype 5 demonstrates Georgia Tech's leadership in guiding advanced design solutions through building science and computation.


Godfried Augenbroe, Professor, IBPSA-fellow


The Team:

Sandeep Ahuja (architecture)

Patrick Chopson (architecture)

Yiyuan Jia (simulation and optimization)

Paul Szymkiewicz (construction)

Yijia Wang (mechanical) 


DOE Competition Breif

Full Project PDF

GA Tech - High Performance Buildings:

The Master of Science with a major in Architecture and a concentration in High Performance Buildings is focused around the use of building physics and building technology for sustainable architectural design. Emphasis is placed on the analysis of the energy performance and environmental impacts of buildings, as well as on the integration of these metrics in the development of innovative architecture.  The program is founded on a first-principles approach to building physics, envelope design, modeling and analysis, life-cycle assessment, applied simulation, AEC Integration, and critical ecological thinking.